The Dragon Soul Quartet – Back Cover Blurbs

In the distant mountains of the Mirror, exiled skyriders fly dragons in the old Way, merged in flesh, blood, and bone. Twenty years past, they fought for the freedom of the valley’s dragons…and lost.

Thus begins the epic four-book adventure that stretches from the quaint village of Taran Leigh and the mountains of the Mirror to the Anghard Archipelago in the western sea. Welcome to a world where wealth and power rule, fear is the weapon of choice, and cruelty is the cost of a pocket of gold. It’s a world that forces a choice—indifference, complicity, or defiance.

The dragons of land and sea, souls of grace and beauty, hang in the balance. Will they descend into the howling violence of terror and pain inflicted upon them by their tormentors? Or will they fly free, the creatures they were born to be? With each book, the stakes rise and far more than the dragons’ soul lies at risk.

The Dragon Soul Quartet contains the entire four book series:
Myths of the Mirror
Eye of Fire
Eye of Blind
Eye of Sun

“They stood by a foreleg. The chest rose above his head, long neck curving, aquamarine eyes fracturing the sunlight. This dragon’s scale shone blue and gray, sea-shaded with crescents like curling white waves. The webbed wings gleamed seafoam blue with ribbons of black and the mottled green of seaweed. Kearney smiled. If the sea glimmered like this dragon, he’d have become a sailor.” – Kearney, Clan Lord of Loughran, Eye of Blind.

Myths of the Mirror (Book 1)

In the distant mountains of the Mirror, exiled skyriders fly dragons in the old Way, merged in flesh, blood, and bone. Twenty years past, they fought for the freedom of the valley’s dragons…and lost.

Imprisoned in the stone lair, the captive dragons beat their webbed wings and thrash serpentine tails. They tear their flesh and batter their bodies against the black bars of their cells, iron grating against iron. The once peaceful creatures howl, tormented by spine and spur, their fury matched only by their despair.

Treasa, the daughter of exiles, seeks the secrets of a hidden past and a father she never knew. Gifted with visions, she glimpses pieces of years long lost and a veiled future that only raises more questions. The dragons visit her dreams, laden with contradictions that tear at her heart—for one day she sails in unfettered flight, her arms thrown wide, and the next she writhes in tortured darkness, desperate to be free.

The lair’s black-garbed riders sense the dragons’ growing savagery. Yet Conall longs to grasp their power, to subdue them and soar. He will endure the reek, filth, and terror of the lair to earn his right to fly. With a heart encased in steel, he masters the weapons of compliance to see his will done. At the cost of the woman he loves.

Then, a curved talon rends flesh and dragon scale, rattling against white ribs. Blood falls like rain and the world shifts. Treasa and Conall must decide who they are and what they stand for. Thus the battle for the dragons’ souls begins again. Alliances form, old myths are revealed, and new myths are born.

Eye of Fire (Book 2)

In the epic sequel to Myths of the Mirror, the black-barred cells groan open and webbed wings sweep the sky. The dragons fly free of their bonds, as do the ruthless men who enslaved them.

Armed with fresh power, Earlin leads the village of Taran Leigh in search of a new myth. Not all forgive their ruin at her hands, and fires blaze in retribution. Driven by flames from the mountains of the Mirror, Conall and his skyriders descend on Taran Leigh, complicating Earlin’s life. Malice flows with the governors as they escape down the silver-green Argantael to the sea.

Across the western sea, those wielding authority discover new forces at play. A master of fear, Phelan plots for control, skimmers raid ports for grift, the wealthy hoard, and children starve. Morgen, captain of the Seabourne, sails the archipelago without a care until visitors from the Mirror arrive and voices of conscience dare him to see. No longer can he ignore the desperately poor, the hunting of dragons, and the political manipulations that threaten to tear apart his home. Yet, he cannot save the islands alone.

Eye of Blind (Book 3)

The epic tale continues as a foretelling of fire rises in the night. Tragedy strikes in Taran Leigh, flames forever changing the landscape of the village and the hearts of its inhabitants.

In the islands of the archipelago, the hunter clans of Loughran wage an escalating war with the reclusive Endellion, protectors of the dragons. Only when the Guild, under Phelan’s sway, pays in gold for unrestrained death, does an unexpected alliance form that will alter both sides.

Morgen’s vow to transform the face of the islands leads him to seek the Endellion and discover a new vision of life in Belonging. As swiftly as a storm abrades the sea, the threads of his dream unravel. Skimmers seize their prize, exposing his deception. The Guild retaliates, all Morgen holds dear thrust into peril—his ships and wealth, his freedom, the lives of those he loves, and his own survival.

Eye of Sun (Book 4)

Provoked by Kearney and the hunters of Loughran, Phelan hires warriors from across the outland sea. Mercenaries from the Tradelands descend on the archipelago, brandishing fear as they execute the wicked vision of their masters. The Guild’s reprisals strike without remorse, sparing no one, Morgen least of all. Imprisoned once again in the Governors’ Hall, he awaits his death.

In the mountains of the Mirror, dragons return with the spring, impaled by arrows, wings torn to white bone. Bound to the dragons and the Belonging they embody, Conall and Torin fly for the islands of the western sea. Left behind in Taran Leigh, Treasa dreams of Conall’s death, her visions as certain as the change of moons.

In the epic conclusion of Eye of Sun, forces from both sides of the sea converge on the Arran Archipelago for a final reckoning. Skyriders of Taran Leigh and the Mirror join with the hunters of Loughran, Endellion archers, and daring skimmers for a last stand. The trap is set and not all will survive.